Bolinda Home Page

Login

Basket totals

Items:
0
Total:
NZD$ 0.00

Search Results

You searched for '08 July 2022-08 October 2022'. 155 results were found.
To add items to your order, enter quantity and click 'add selected products to order'
One for Sorrow, Two for Joy
Released the same day as the standard print edition
Title:
One for Sorrow, Two for Joy
Written by:
Marie-Claire Amuah 
Read by:
Amoakwaa Augustine 
Format:
Unabridged CD Audio Book 
Number of CDs:
Duration:
9 hours 35 minutes 
Published:
August 18 2022 
Available Date:
August 18 2022 
Age Category:
Adult 
ISBN:
9781038614292 
Genres:
Fiction; Contemporary Fiction; General Fiction; Literary Fiction 
Publisher:
Bolinda audio 
Qty
Format
Price
Bolinda price
NZD$ 44.95
NZD$ 44.95
 

Award winning author
Debut novel
UK Author

One for Sorrow, Two for Joy is a brilliant, big-hearted and incredibly wise story exploring the searing pain of childhood abuse and the insidious way it burrows under the skin.

It’s hard to plan your future when the ghosts of the past won’t leave you alone … Stella tries very hard to be good. She tries not to be sassy, to answer back, to be noticed. Because when Stella’s father is angry, it’s like lightning and thunder and hailstones. All she can do is touch wood … or search for magpies. But as Stella begins to build a new life, her past still haunts her. It will take all her grace, courage and love to heal her wounds and break free. Set against a backdrop of London and Ghana, Marie-Claire Amuah’s debut novel is an unforgettable exploration of intergenerational trauma. Brimming with compassion, One for Sorrow, Two for Joy offers both a sensitive portrayal of the ripple effects of domestic violence, and a defiant story of friendship, resilience and hope.

'One for Sorrow, Two for Joy is a vivid, deeply felt exploration of intergenerational trauma, the complexities of family and the redemptive power of friendship. Stella is an utterly unique heroine who you'll find yourself rooting for from page one.'
Angela Chadwick, author of XX

'While One for Sorrow Two for Joy begins as a gut wrenching portrait of injustice and abuse, it is a triumphant ode to resilience, friendship and love. Marie-Claire’s spare writing sparkles, reminiscent of Adichie’s Purple Hibiscus. You will both cry and laugh. A brave, unforgettable debut.'
Bisi Adjapon, author of The Teller of Secrets

'Amuah's title is touted as a wonderfully immersive novel for readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Helen Oyeyemi.'
brittle paper

'I loved this book so much! Intense and beautiful and heartbreaking.'
Buki Papillon, author of An Ordinary Wonder