Bolinda Home Page

Login

Basket totals

Items:
0
Total:
GBP£ 0.00
Title:
The Envy of the Stranger
Written by:
Caroline Graham 
Read by:
Sofia Engstrand 
Format:
Unabridged CD Audio Book 
Number of CDs:
Duration:
9 hours 56 minutes 
Published:
November 01 2022 
Available Date:
November 01 2022 
Age Category:
Adult 
ISBN:
9781038625939 
Genres:
Fiction; Contemporary Fiction; Crime & Thriller; Mystery 
Publisher:
Bolinda audio 
Qty
Format
Price
Bolinda price
GBP£ 20.98
GBP£ 20.98
 

Award winning author
UK Author

From the author of the Midsomer Murders series comes a spine-chilling domestic thriller about jealousy and revenge. Perfect for fans of Ann Cleeves, Sophie Hannah and A.J. Finn.

Roz Gilmour is a happy woman with two children, a loving husband, a successful career as a local radio presenter and a comfortable home in North London. Sometimes she can't believe just how fortunate she is. But a woman who has everything has everything to lose, and Roz's luck is about to change ... Not everybody is as content as Roz Gilmour. There are people who dislike her – if only because of the apparent ease and success with which she lives her life. And one of them is insane. A fame-hungry stranger whom Roz has unwittingly snubbed. A man who is dangerously delusional and spiralling out of control. A man who will stop at nothing to get his revenge. Whatever it takes ...

A strong narration by Sofia Engstrand provides a solid base for Caroline Graham's stand-alone (not Barnaby) mystery. Fame attracts envy, and popular radio host Roz Gilmour is receiving threatening messages and hate mail. The anonymous "listener" is an actor who expects he will soon be as famous as she is. When that doesn't happen, he becomes unglued, focusing all his psychopathic anger on Roz. Once she realizes he has her home address and phone number, Roz is appropriately panicked. Engstrand switches characters easily, making each an individual personality. She builds tension with subtle vocal shifts, creating a chilling atmosphere. When her personal secretary is found murdered, Roz becomes increasingly terrorized and endangered. Graham's believable characters and situations and Engstrand's spot-on performance offer an unforgettable listening experience. S.J.H. © AudioFile 2022, Portland, Maine
AudioFile

'Wickedly acid, yet sympathetic.' (on Death in Disguise)
Publishers Weekly

'A mystery of which Agatha Christie would have been proud.' (on Death of a Hollow Man)
The Times

'The author’s sharp characters and complex but believable plotting are in full play here, to the reader’s delight.' (on A Place of Safety)
Kirkus Reviews

'Both a funny satire of wannabe artists and a suspenseful whodunit that leaves listeners guessing until the last chapter ... This one is an entertaining winner.' (on Written in Blood)
AudioFile